Giant Defy 1 2014 Review

The new Giant Defy 1 2014 has finally been released and is still at the same price tag of £999.99. I know some of you may be thinking “but it is the middle of 2013,” but this seems a common occurrence nowadays. The Giant Defy 1 of 2013 received numerous awards including the best road bike for under a £1000 and Bicycling.com’s Editors Choice . The two new colours for the Giant Defy 1 are blue :

GIANT_DEFY_1_BLUE_2014_m1

and black and red :

GIANT_DEFY_1_BLACK_2014_m2

I feel both colours are an improvement on last years especially the blue what is visually very stunning. The specification of the new 2014 Defy 1 has not changed from last year and its body still has an Aluxx SL aluminium frame with carbon forks, backed up with full Shimano 105 Gear set. To see a full specification of the Giant Defy 1 2014 please click here.

I personally find the Giant Defy range of bikes are perfect for commuting on or to be used as sportive bikes. I have rode both the 2013 and 2014 model and they are a very comfortable ride, this is mainly due to the long head tube on the frame and the raise in the handlebar position. The Defy is still a very fast bike to ride and I have found that it climbs and corners better than a lot of road bikes I have tried with a lot more significant price tags.

If you are to search the internet for reviews on the Defy 1 you will notice how so many mention how good the quality of the frame is. Firstly it is very light for an aluminium frame due to the way it is engineered in the Giant factories, other brands we do feel heavy when compared at the same price. The frame is also very responsive but at the same time will give and take the edge out of a rougher road. I would also say that the same frame is used on all the Defy models from 1-5 so if you cannot afford the defy 1 and go for a lower model you will still have a brilliant frame to add new parts to in the future. One final note of caution, Giant still are using compact road sizing on these models so for example a 58cm frame – XL is bigger than usual road sizing, Giant suggest this frame size is for someone 6″4′ and over.

I would definitely recommend this bike to anyone looking around £1,000 area and higher. As I previously explained the bike is aimed at the long journey sportive rider or as a good commuting bike and can be bought on the cyclescheme. As the same as the previous years model we are selling the Defy 1 2014 at £995.00 with £150.00 worth of spares free with the bike and both are available on the website now : Giant Defy 1 2014 Black : Giant Defy 1 2014 Blue

Share

8 thoughts on “Giant Defy 1 2014 Review

  1. August 8, 2013 at 9:04 pm

    Sounds like a great bike. I bought a Rapid 3 from you in March which has been great – my first road bike – OK it’s a flat bar but let’s not split hairs!
    I’m interested in doing a part-ex for one of these – do you do that?

    1. admin
      August 8, 2013 at 9:20 pm

      Hi Clive, I’m afraid we do not do part ex, maybe have a look at gumtree or ebay if you wanted to sell it. As it is a Giant they keep their money well – Mark

      1. August 23, 2013 at 9:26 pm

        OK, thanks. Saw a 2014 Defy 1 up in Scotland this week – looks great! If I can sell the Rapid I’ll be in touch!

  2. Alan Watterson
    August 19, 2013 at 2:51 pm

    Hi
    How much would it cost to ship a Giant Defy 1 2014 to N.Ireland BT473YJ.
    Thanks for you time.

    Alan.

    1. admin
      August 19, 2013 at 4:25 pm

      Hi Alan, It would be £19.99. Kind Regards Mark

  3. Paddy
    September 21, 2013 at 7:52 pm

    Been looking for a road bike to start with for around £800 and the giant defy 2 seems to be getting me excited. Can anyone give me any advice on What to do or what bike I should be looking at?

  4. Peter
    October 13, 2013 at 8:42 pm

    Hi, what size would you put me on? I’m 187cm & currently comfortable on a 58cm Scott CR1 with 110mm stem.

    1. admin
      October 14, 2013 at 9:46 am

      Hi Peter, If you go to this link on the giant website :

      http://www.giant-bicycles.com/en-gb/bikes/model/2014.giant.defy.1.black.red/14977/66543/

      there is a sizing guide specific for the Defy 1 further down the page. Hope this helps, Mark

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


nine + four =